10 Minutes

 

A bench along the Pont des Arts in Paris.  Filled with interesting and random books. Are they free?

 

This quote, by Ikea founder Ingvar Kamprad, and posted in Tim Ferriss’ Five Bullet Friday’s email, has stuck with me all weekend. It goes like this:

“You can do so much in 10 minutes’ time. Ten minutes, once gone, are gone for good. Divide your life into 10-minute units and sacrifice as few of them as possible in meaningless activity.”

How often are we caught up in the thought of doing so many things that we end up doing very little? How about this one:

“What do you want to do today?” or “What should I do today?”

If you are like me this question spurs on a list of hundreds and then the day is over and I wonder what from my list did I actually do?
An environment of endless choice combined with a list of things that are difficult, or I simply don’t want to do, leads to more time spent doing a meaningless activity then what’s important. 10 Minutes. The goal of this post was to create something in ten minutes and in doing so avoid the pitfalls of many other posts that consume more time thinking about doing them than actually doing them.

Consider the next hour of your life and what you have planned? If you think of all the activities you could be doing then scratch off 10 minutes. What do you have to do in the next 10 minutes? That question feels much more manageable. I wrote this blog post and in the next ten minutes, I’m going to re-read it and start editing it. The following ten minutes will be me posting it. Small chunks of time to accomplish tasks that can feel overwhelming.

My ask to you is to think about the quote and let me know if you find the 10-minute window easier to manage vs. the what am I going to do today? Let me know in the comments.

If you want to take this one step further then make a list of the 5 – 10 things you have floating around in your head right now that you absolutely do not want to do. Write them down and get them on the paper. What could you do in the next 10 minutes to move one of those items forward?

2 thoughts on “10 Minutes

  1. Great post. I’ve been meaning to keep up on my blog and it is difficult. I like your take on how to use the 10 minute time window. Keep up the great work 👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

