Books And Beers

Creativity can lead us down some pretty crazy paths sometimes. At times we feel inspired to take on the world, other times there isn’t a hole dark enough to hide in while we rumenate over the lack of contribution. My morning pages over the last month have been filled with a malaise of gibberish. The same themes covering my own procrastination and machinations of the mind. Too many ideas with should as the prefix for my liking. Ideas with form but no substance.

So I decided to run with an idea that’s been brewing (Yes, pun intended!) … developing it further and seeing what happens. My passion for Craft Beer goes back a few years and books is a no-brainer as I’m sure you are already aware.  The Instagram @book.and.beers was created. Is Instagram a creative tool in today’s day and age?  I’d like to think so. A more instant gratification form of art for sure, but where amazing talent can really stand out. @Books.and.beers isn’t so much about talent but more about passion, the process of creating and finding different outlets when it feels like the well is dry. I can sit down in the morning and bang out 500-1,000 words and yet the urge to sit down here can be a battle of wills at times.

The beauty of morning pages for me has been the recognition of themes that slowly creep in and rest within the words, until I’ve grown tired of writing them down and decide to do something about it. One of these recurring themes has centered around coming up with something tangible to test out while connecting with people. I refer back to The Art of Possibility as my readings covered a topic that I became particularly attached too. The idea of enrollment. In the Zander’s own words:

“So, the practice of enrollment is about giving yourself as a possibility to others and being ready, in turn, to catch their spark. It is about playing together as partners in a field of light. And the steps to the practice are:

  1. Imagine that people are an invitation for enrollment.
  2. Stand ready to participate, willing to be moved and inspired.
  3. Offer that which lights you up.
  4. Have no doubt that others are eager to catch the spark.”

A simple idea that happens to coincides with an area I’ve always felt challenged with. Connecting to others in a meaningful way. Now I’m not going to say Instagram is an ideal way to connect deeply with others, but it can be a starting point, especially when likeminded people are so easily able to find each other. Case in point, books and beers. The beer enthusiasts and book fanatics are a force to be reckoned with.

This felt like a project; something I could easily identify and wrap my hands around. There is no hidden agenda and the theme is quite simple. You have your pictures of books, and your pictures of beers and sometimes the two end up together. It has also allowed me to practice the steps mentioned above. The concept is so simple that offering up a chance to connect with people over either theme becomes straight forward. It is something that I’m passion about and helps to open me up to others because of that passion. Sow the spark for others who may also be interested.

As someone who loves photography, it’s also a way to practice and find new and interesting things to capture. I love to travel and capture grand photos, but at the same time realize that there are so many interesting things around us to capture as well. The Zanders’ end the book with a great quote from William James:

“I am done with great things and big plans, great institutions and big successes. I am for those tiny, invisible loving human forces that work from individual to individual, creeping through the crannies of the world like so many rootlets, or like the capillary oozing of water, yet which, if given time, will rend the hardest monuments of human pride.”

If you are interested in books or beer than I encourage you to follow along and share your ideas and passions for both. Mindfulness and Powerlifting, along with most of my other photos, will still continue @Mindfullifter so reach out and connect. I’m an invitation for enrollment.

2 thoughts on “Books And Beers

Leave a Reply

