Book Review’s; My World Undone

At Hyde Park Corner sits the Royal Artillery Memorial dedicated to those who fought with the Royal Regiment of Artillery during the First World War. Artillery became one of the most critical, and yet devastatingly brutal, aspects of modern warfare during World War One. A fitting tie-in to G.J. Meyer’s A World Undone: The Story of the Great War, 1914 to 1918.

What! A book review? Alright I confess I’m writing book reviews in 2016 to correspond to the photo challenge I set for myself in 2016.  As mentioned previous, I like to get lost in a good story or learn something new and a reading challenge has always kept me somewhat focused. This year’s challenge has been for all physical and iBooks read a corresponding photograph needs to be created to go along with it.  Flex my creative muscle so to speak and practice new photography skills.  It’s really capturing a few different passions all in one. Well one way to get to 100 books in a year is to listen to audiobooks which I love.  The commute to and from work is often long and I’d rather listen to something interesting or fun then just get lost in music.  These were excluded because I average a book a week and let’s face it, I’m not that creative.

So in order to get the writing juices flowing a bit and cover off a blog post as well as get more involved in the Goodreads community, I figured I’d write a short concise book review for these books as well and incorporate perhaps a photo I’ve taken in the past. Again this is all about the creative process for me and to see if I can actually write a book review. My typical form of reviewing involves clicking the stars and moving on. Over time it’s indicated that I’m a very generous book rater.

The goal, and idea, was to keep the review within a couple of paragraphs.  Therefore without a big pre-amble like this post has you would be able to get a concise idea of the book and my thoughts.  Done.  So let’s give this a shot.  How hard could it be?

First up is a truly great narrative of World War I; G.J. Meyer’s A World Undone: The Story of the Great War, 1914 to 1918, narrated by Robin Sachs. Mr. Meyer has gone and created a chronological tale of the lead-up, enthusiastic start, fuelled by national fervour, and ultimately the terrible tragedy to humanity that unfolded over four years. The narrative weaves from the politics behind the scenes to the front line jumping between the Western and Eastern Front’s as time progressed.

Thorough preparation must lead to success. Neglect nothing. – General Sir Arthur Currie, General of the First Canadian Corps.

Robin Sach’s narration adds an intensity and often concerned tone to the writing which fits with the history at hand. Mr. Meyer picks areas to focus on that were critical turning points during the war and some of the most well known battles of the time. If you are looking for absolute detail of battles you are better to look for additional reading material. Mr. Meyer really tries to capture the essence of attitudes of the time and the brutal nature of modern warfare while giving the reader insight into the political machinations, the conditions of trench warfare, and ultimately the cost all while following the timeline from 1914 to 1918.

If you have an interest in history, or want a well written coverage of World War I, consider this book. The narration adds another element which is exceptional and critical to making it interesting to listen too.

Leave a Reply

