Coffee & Meditation!

It took me a while to figure this one out but I’ve always been an early morning person.  When I began meditation it seemed fitting to do it first thing in the morning before the day started.  It was a refreshing start to sit quietly and have a calm mind before beginning the list of things to do in a normal day!

The other thing I’ve always enjoyed in a nice freshly brewed espresso before starting the day.  A small creamy shot of coffee and off to work.  Two things enjoyed before leaving the house and yet without realizing were interfering with each other!

My daily morning ritual of Headspace usually followed the espresso in order to clear the cobwebs per say.  While away on a work trip and with no quick access to an espresso or coffee I began my meditation as normal and found my mind suddenly much quieter.  Thoughts weren’t racing as quickly through my mind as I sat quietly listening to the session.  For the remainder of the trip I avoided the caffeine before meditating and realized how much more clear-headed the sessions felt.

It was a simple change, and perhaps obvious to most people, but it hadn’t occurred to me how quickly caffeine can affect you and how it would impact my thoughts during meditation.  Coming home and once again with espresso back in hand the thoughts raced during the first meditation.  It was an Ah hah! moment.  Those moments following the breath were being significantly impacted by the caffeine coursing through my blood!

Quiet the mind, and the soul will speak – Ma Jaya Sati Bhagavati

Shifting such a small piece of my practice has allowed for a much calmer meditation sitting.  Yes there are still days where the thoughts race as fast as if I had caffeine but on average thoughts move slower and the breath is much more clear.

Something to think about if you find yourself a coffee fan and time your meditations closely after taking a sip!

Leave a Reply

